Author Topic: Nissan outboard Maintenance  (Read 2882 times)

Offline Bassaholic

• Smallmouth Bass
  • Applause: +5/-0
  • Cant get enough BASS
    • View Profile
  • My Biggest Bass: 6.2lb LMB(RI) 4.28 SMB (VT)
  • My Boat: 2009 Uncle bucks pond prowler!
Nissan outboard Maintenance
« on: February 24, 2015, 11:38:40 AM »
Hey everyone!

So im a pretty experienced car mechanic, I don't have any certifications by any means but i have been working on my personal vehicles since i was 16. I can do just about anything on a car. With that said last fall i tore apart my 3.5hp Nissan outboard to do some maintenance and fix an issue i was having. Still i have not been able to fix it.

Im not super experienced with Carburetors and i believe my issue lies within there. Did the typical spark plug replacement, ran some higher test gas thru it, made sure no plastic lines were cracked or leaking but for some reason i need to have the choke fully open on the motor in order for it to run, even when its warmed up. It also just likes to shut off every now and then and sometimes can be a total pain in the butt to start back up. Another issue is sometimes it just leaks fuel all over the place and im pretty sure that is because the carb is being flooded, i checked my tank and lines and there are no cracks or holes..

So im assuming its struggling to get Air into the carb properly, thus causing the gas to pile up because not all of it is being burned in a timely fashion...I have heard about the float getting stuck on carbs and  being a possible cause of this issue, but im curious if anyone could point me in the direction of what else to check out. The motor is definitely struggling and i know its capable of moving a bit faster then it does, or at least run much more efficiently...I could just buy a new carb for it but i may be buying my first bass boat within a few months and i would rather fix it so i can get a better resale value from it when the time comes.