Author Topic: Trout Opening Day  (Read 1668 times)

Offline renko

• Guppy
  • Applause: +1/-0
  • Northeastbass.com Rocks!
    • View Profile
  • My Biggest Bass: 6 lb Largemouth.
Trout Opening Day
« on: April 09, 2016, 07:05:34 PM »
Since this is my first year living in RI, I figured I should experience opening day of trout season, so I went over to Barber Pond on RT 2. Arrived at 5:30am and it was pretty packed but I slipped my kayak in with no hassle. Waited around till 6 and started throwing rooster tails and small Rapala shad raps (had no time to grab any bait, plus I like the challenge of artificials). It was slow early and the only people I noticed catching anything had either power bait or shiners. After a while of watching fish jump all around me and catching nothing, I decided to troll a silver Mooselook Wobbler. I hooked up within 30 seconds and caught a nice rainbow. Things started turning on and I landed my new PB brokie and another rainbow. Called it quits around 10. Not a bad first opening day, I actually thought it would be a lot more crowded than it was after hearing all the hype. It was also my new kayaks maiden voyage, no more inflatable for me  :thumbup: Nice to actually have rod holders and storage!  ;D I almost always practice catch and release, but I love me some grilled trout a few times a year so these will feed the family tomorrow night!
« Last Edit: April 09, 2016, 07:10:24 PM by renko »

Offline Curt - RI

• Forum Admin
  • Administrator
  • Largemouth Bass
  • Applause: +149/-0
  • Fish On!
    • View Profile
    • CurtSnow.com
  • My Biggest Bass: LMB - 9 lbs. 2 oz. (RI) 9 lbs. 14 oz. (California Delta) - SMB 5 lbs. 10 oz. (CT)
  • My Boat: 2007 G3 HP180 Yamaha 150 HP
Re: Trout Opening Day
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2016, 07:57:54 PM »
@renko Great job! And nice brookie for sure  ;D